Omtech 100w laser

I am having issues with my laser trying to travel past the stops… I am brand new to this so please bear with me. It sounds like it’s jumping the belt trying to go past its internal limits.

two things need to be done so the machine knows where the motors are and how far to move.

1. the machine needs to go to the home switches. It’s called Homing the machine and most of the time they will do this when they start up but if the machine does this before the software is connected then the software doesn’t know it is at its home position… So setup your software to home when it connects or you can manually hit the HOME button.

2. you must setup the software so it knows how big the machine working area is. Somewhere in the settings for the machine definition should be your Max X and Max Y settings. When you purchased your machine it should have instructions telling you how much working area you have. ie 240mm x 240mm or 160mm x 150mm, etc.

3 Likes

Also, a 100W laser can destroy your eye(s) or burn down your home/office so you should be reading and watching lots of instructional videos on how to setup your machine and how to use it before someone gets hurt or your break your expensive machine. And yes, it can destroy itself if inadvertently told to do so.

3 Likes

It seem to be jumping the belt from time to time and that causes it to no longer know where the head is.
Then when it homes it grinds and sounds horrible. The computer knows the bed size and all that is good. It will sometimes home perfectly with no issues then out of nowhere it sounds like it gets stuck and gets out of wack. Belt tensions maybe??

no way should be belt be jumping so something is wrong there. Belt tensioning is a normal maintenance procedure for laser cutters, 3D printers, etc.