Ok. I guess it's getting time to jump in.

Ok. I guess it’s getting time to jump in. I’m a complete noob at a lot of this stuff, but I pick up on things pretty quickly and am super excited to get into the CNC world!

I spent the first few days of research completely and utterly overwhelmed and confused but I think now I’m zeroing in on what I need, and things are starting to look less like Acronym soup and more like English.

So here is what, I’m thinking and I’d like to hear your thoughts on it.

I’d like to build an OX in a box from smw3d with all the trimming (large format, extra v wheels, belt and pulley upgrades ,etc, etc),

for the controller, I’m thinking to use an Arduino + gShield to go the TinyG2 route. I think I’d like to use Mach 3 a couple years down the road (as thats what I see my ‘heroes’ on youtube using with thier fancy tormachs), but I don’t really know for sure. Is this really something I need to be concerned with? the TinyG certainly looks more stable and tested. Would love to hear someone’s input on how future proof I need to make this machine to grow with it. (Edit: this is probably the main question I need to answer right now)

I’ve found a line on some refurbished dell precision laptops so will be using one of those to control things and run software.

I’d also like to be able to work on pieces up to about 3" in thickness so going to need some serious Z capability. If I can’t get it out of the machine, it would be useful to figure out how to get the top of the work table itself to lower to accomodate for thicker work pieces.
Currently I build high-end furniture but as my business evolves I see it heading towards part machining. Would like something the capacity for a coffee table top and the accuracy to do detailed, palm-sized pieces.

@Brandon_Satterfield , would it be very difficult to customize my kit to build an OX with a 2’x4’ working area? what’s involved?

total budget for the project will be somewhere around 2700 bucks: