Ok guys I have a great freekin idea.

Ok guys I have a great freekin idea. We all agree that G+ is really not the best way to interact here. Lot of useful posts get buried and you cant even edit your original post to add or remove some more pictures neither you can reply with pictures.

So how about we create our own Forum website? I have some experience with wordpress and we can install what ever forum theme we decide or go with what ever works. Domain name is cheap, I can totally host the website on the server I have with Hostgator. I have 3 sites hosted on it. So we can get started for nothing at all. I can at least do that much !

Ehh, I’d rather just stick with Google+ and create a wiki page with all the good info on it, and we can update and add more info as needed?

I personally like the idea of a forum as long as its monitored well for spammers it could do well but a wiki page could serve the same purpose to iguess

I like the idea of a wiki page better, but a forum would work, however somebody would have to be responsible for the cost involved, and maintain backups incase of server failure or loss of data due to other reasons.

A wiki would be free if we went with one of those websites where you can setup a free wiki

CNC Zone has a sub-forum dedicated to this sort of machine and it’s brethren, but it’s languishing for lack of activity. The most current post on the K40 is over a year old. Maybe we could move in and liven it up a tad…

http://www.cnczone.com/forums/

There’s a variety of other Chinese laser subforums, for the Redsail etc.
I’m sure with the number of us here, we’d rate our own K40 sub.

Maybe just start posting in the General Laser thread and let the mod see we’re a serious bunch willing to contribute.

They have an incredible array of talent in CAD/CAM and all CNC disciplines over there.

Another one I belong to, but caters more to scratch builders is OpenCNC.

Both are worth a look.