New k40 playing up

g’day guys,

Got a new laser a few days ago.

Was working perfectly with inkscape and whisperer (im a total novice).
Did some simple designs at low power …nothing over 30 %.
Machine was moving free and everything was good as gold. I was so happy.
It must have been in operation not more than five mins.

Then the head started to move strangely.
Tried three different usb cables.
Now there’s a big lag of three seconds between a whisperer command (dragging the cutter position with the mouse or pressing a jog step button). The whisperer jog step button “stays down” aswell.

Whisperer will receive a file and the cutting head will take a few seconds to move. Then move into place…then cut a mm…then move away…then after twenty seconds…move in again and cut a mm or less…then move away and keep doing that. It takes 15 minutes to cut a cm long vector.

If i press the home key…it moves instantly back to home though? Every other command has a massive lag.

It would take many hours to cut out a simple 5cm square.

Whisperer also has “not responding” during these lags at top of screen.

I’ve reinstalled drivers, tried meerkat, wiped the computer, new usb cables, different usb ports (usb1 and 2 and 3).
Ive tried different versions of whisperer aswell.

My laser tube is perfect…shoots a straight powerful line, the machine cuts nicely. Temps are fine, using distilled water. (distilled water sorted all laser arcing at cathode end)

I had to do stuff like beef up the ventilation and water pump as usual.

Ive got nothing…run out of ideas.

I love this machine and its perfect for what i need.

Has the nano board spazzed out?

Dave

G’morning (here),
My short answer is ‘Maybe.’. Whisperer seems to be waiting for the ‘I’m done with last command, there is room in my RX buffer, please send me another command’ signal from the Nano.