My k40 psu blew up when i pulled and pushed my usb cable into

My k40 psu blew up when i pulled and pushed my usb cable into my laptop. Since i studied electronics at uni, i thought i should be able to fix that in a sec. The big schottky recovery diode next to the 12v regulator blew up (shortened) and the full bridge driver which are the 4 transitors in a row on the left(one npn transistor blew). I will draw up the schematic since the design has several flaws. The main one: No separation of the mains! So there is only one rectifier bridge between me and the mains. Opto couplers are implemented as barriers for the controls but all grounds have been connected to the minus of the rectifier, so these become superfluous of this flaw. No ‘snubber’ diodes on the driver bridge so soldered those in as well. My conclusion is that the designer took various power supply designs and cobbled it together without understanding of the electrical principles. Please be smart and add a seperation 1 to 1 transformer to protect your lives! After fixing the hissing is gone when I switch on the high voltage. I guess this was the leaking high voltage through my usb connection. The laptop was dead for 5mins and miraculously recovered, god thanks!

I have been trying to get an old one of these to help understand the interface and the failures everyone is having. Have been searching for schematic and would love to see the schematic you come up with. I would check all the grounding in your machine as the USB part of this failure is strange.

@donkjr thanks. I will try to draw the schematic this week. Once you see it you will understand the ground wire flaw. :blush:

Yikes! I haven’t even unboxed my K40 yet (it’s killing me, but I’m just too busy right now). This makes me want to be extra careful when I finally get to plugging it in. Thanks for the warning!

Yet another reason why these machines MUST BE GRIOUNDED to a GOOD GROUND ROD SYSTEM INDEPENDENT of the mains wiring.