Making... an upgrade for my manual mill

Not CNC, but manual mill… Last year I bought a mill that has a heavy head with no power Z feed. I was making a power feed for the head when Google announced that they were moving up the Google+ use-by date from August to April, so my Z feed project went on standby. A few days ago I started playing with that project again. Today I ran the head up and down under power for the first time.

I still have to do the electronics and put a switch on the front of the mill to control it, but that’s the easy part. Mostly it’s ordering the right momentary-contact switch and waiting for it to arrive! :relaxed:

3 Likes

I have the same mill at work for small projects and modifications. I will keep an eye on your upgrades.

1 Like

I found that stand too low, as well as too narrow, and regretted buying it. I ended up going to Home Depot and picking up a large rolling case to put it on instead. So now I have a stand for which I have no use.

I bought the X power feed and wonder whether I would have been happier fabricating my own. It is kind of clunky, and if I’d hooked up stepper motors I could know my feed rates; as it is I’m guessing. And the limit switch block is big and interferes.

Tonight I went looking for a switch to complete my build.

I have a DPDT (on)off(on) momentary switch, which I can use to run the motor forward or backward. However, the brush trimmer — that sacrificed itself (in my hands, as I was using it) to make this project possible — had a nice feature that when it wasn’t supplying power to the motor, it shorted the motor to stop it more quickly.

I could do this and also be able to switch polarity so that I can run the head both up and down with a 3PDT or 4PDT (on)on(on) switch, but so far I’ve found exactly one of those with screw or spade terminals, and it’s $50. So I think I’ll hope that with the load of running the head the motor stops easily without being shorted! :slight_smile: