Making an SMW3D OX site; volunteers?

@Brandon_Satterfield provided an archive of various files related to his variant(s) of the OpenBuilds OX. I’m building a site to organize and present them, linking here for support and discussion, but meant to make a from-scratch OX build more feasible. Anyone want to help out? One of the things I need is help from someone with solidworks to identify parts, and to make STEP and/or IGES files from the solidworks files.

As far as I know, there are currently no commercial suppliers of OX plates in the US, or indeed outside the UK, which means that a cut-it-forward system will, practically speaking, be necessary in many places. I’m thinking that Maker Forums will be an obvious place to arrange that.

3 Likes

I am not good with the Cad software required, but am willing to help in other ways.

1 Like

Count me in on the CAD. All the parts are there in CAD, just a bit disorganized without context. I just need clarity on what is the latest plate versions. Then I can cleanup things into proper subassemblies for drawings and exploded views.

1 Like

Thanks @Eclsnowman — I’ll create the site as a gitlab repository (because of flexibility on repository size), and we can work together on building the site around it.

1 Like

The site is born:

Lots of work left to go before it’s complete!

1 Like

Not exactly related, but I wish someone could this all into #FreeCAD. #WishList

EDIT: reason? SolidWorks is expensive, so I don’t have it. Fusion360 is (sortof) free, but the files may end up locked in a format nobody can access anymore. Not an issue with an open source solution like FreeCAD.

@SirGeekALot that’s why open formats (STEP and/or IGES as appropriate) are the next step.

1 Like

Although I think it is already in Sketchup on OpenBuilds, but I hate Sketchup…ugh.

@mcdanlj Yes, those are very helpful. But I’ve found they are solids that are difficult to modify in FreeCAD. Still, a good compromise and far better than nothing.