Looking for the right workbench

I’m looking for a workbench for my garage and I’m wondering what kind of top to get. I would use it for everything from assembling electronics and working on electronics to repairing appliances and tearing apart small engines.

I’m looking at these

But there are about a dozen top options. The cheapest being an engineered product of fiber board on cheaper fiber board to the most expensive solid maple butcher block. Birch butcher block is a cheaper option I’m thinking of going with but there is also esd safe laminated plastic like I use at work. How would that hold up in a garage? I’m an electrical engineer by trade but I’ve never worried about taking work home and laying it out on the dining room table without an anti static wrist band (not even sure if that’s what they’re called lol).

Butcher block seems the way to go but I’m looking for some input before I drop an extra $200 for a solid top.

If there is any risk of fluids leaking, I would stay away from the engineered fiber tops, they will just swell and rot. If you are not going to be pounding away on it very much, the Birch butcher block seems like the best value/price option. If it will take a regular heavy pounding, the maple is the way to go. When all is said and done, the workbench is just another tool, and quality matters when it comes to tools, I always buy the best I can afford.

1 Like

Thanks. I totally agree on buying the best tools. My Bulgarian girlfriend likes to say “cheap things are expensive.” But sometimes I get fooled by the price tag and think I need the most expensive one.

I will second the butcher block top. They will be the most durable surface that can be used for all of the things you mention. Just get an ESD mat for working on electronics. They can be had for reasonable prices on Amazon.