Looking for motor recommendations for Leslie speaker cab

Hey, I have two Leslie style cabs from an old Baldwin organ that I would like to retrofit with variable speed control. My minimum viable product would be a knob on the cabinet that I could turn to adjust the motor speed, but eventually I would like to have an electronic controller controlling the motor speeds, receiving speed change messages from a guitar pedal or a laptop.

So first things first; I am a pretty big noob, but I have an Arduino, and I’ve messed around with changing RGB LED strips with it. I also am pretty handy with soldering and running wires and wood working. I have done some basic research, and I am at a loss for what would be a good motor for this project.

These speaker cabs are from the early 60’s. There is a 120v AC motor currently installed that runs at a fixed speed when you plug it into the mains. It’s not the quietest, and I assume it’s not worth messing with; I’m better off putting in a DC power supply with a modern DC motor.

There is a belt driven flywheel already installed. I don’t know exactly what the reduction is, but I am guessing it’s about 20/1. I’ll check it and update when I get the chance. With this flywheel, I am guessing I don’t need a lot of torque, and it helps get away from gears in the motor.

Ideal motor attributes:
Slow - In a perfect dream world, I would like this motor to turn at 100rpm up to 10000rpm. With the 20x reduction, this would give me a final speed of 5rpm to 500rpm. If I had to compromise here, I would be happy with 500rpm up to 5000rpm, giving me final speeds of 25rpm up to 250rpm.
Quiet - the quieter the better.

So, does anyone have any slam dunk recommendations for a motor and controller to make this work? Cheers!

1 Like

Does the AC motor currently installed have a “data plate”? If so, can you post a picture?

There are definitely motors that can do the trick, but we don’t know how much work the trick is. :relaxed:

1 Like