Levelling a frame laser cutter

Hi Just starting out with the Xtool D1 Pro. I’m an engineer by trade, so need to cover off a question. Ive squared the frame and aligned the gantry with vernier /tape, however the level for the frame is off, not by much.

When I’ve installed massive machinery we were told to level at the point where all the work is being done as mostly everything else will either follow that levelling process of not matter. So putting a level on the laser head it its out by half a bubble on my level in both X & Y axis.

Question for everyone that knows better than I, for this little machine does it matter so much for frame level or head level, or am I over thinking things? If level is important, then where are you all levelling it out, on the frame, gantry of on top of the head?

Cheers

Is the surface level? You care mostly whether the head is trammed and the beam is normal to the axes; level doesn’t matter. (Even on machine tools level is a proxy for tram.)

Do you have any idea how many degrees (or rise/run) “half a bubble” is on your level? If the beam is significantly out of perpendicular to the surface, you could cut at a slight diagonal, which depending on what you are trying to do might or might not matter.

Are you planning to engrave, cut, or both?

2 Likes

I agree with Michael that “level” isn’t super important. What you are concerned with is whether the separation between the laser head and the work surface is consistent across the work area. That is, you want the focus point of the laser, on the work surface, to be constant as the head moves.

2 Likes

Thanks for the replies.
Told you I was over thinking it.
My previous life I installed punch presses and press brakes. Only X & Y axis moved, the punch head was static therefore only the machine needed to be levelled at the head.

Now I’m visualising how the laser is moving in space relative to the work plane.
Squareness will give me accuracy and correct engrave/cuts.