Laser not turning off during travel

Hey, I’m fairly new to the CNC world. This is my first experience with a laser engraver. I bought a cheap Eleksmaker clone from eBay and it came entirely without software. The meager instructions referenced using Benbox, so I took a few days of searching to come up with how to do that.

That searching led me to Laserweb, which appears FAR more user powerful than Benbox. I flashed grbl 1.1f to the controller board and got things hooked up to Laserweb. I’m using the Generic GRBL machine setup with a few modifications for machine size and laser test power and such.

So far, things are going mostly well. I’m using a simple Inkscape created .svg logo for vector testing, and it draws the image beautifully, except, the laser doesn’t turn off for travels. There are only 4 strokes in the image, set to full power (S1000.00) at 1000mm/m. The travels are marked in green on the preview and simulation, but when I look at the raw gcode, it never sends a signal to turn off the laser, only a new command to turn it on to full before the start of the next stroke. I saved the gcode to a file, and manually inserted laser off commands (S0.00) before each go to command at the start of each stroke, and the image came out perfectly as I expected it to look.

What am I doing incorrectly to prevent those from being automatically inserted?

This sounds like you probably forgot to set grbl to laser mode by sending $32=1. This makes grbl to only switch the laser on during G1, G2 or G3 moves, but off on G0.

3 Likes

Please check the LaserWeb Initial Configuration:
https://laserweb.yurl.ch/documentation/initial-configuration/31-grbl-1-1e

@AardvarkSagus Please do let us know whether the suggestion solved the problem for you, thanks!