Laser comes On when lid is closed

Hi, newbie here. I recently purchased a used Digital K40 Laser with a new power supply and a known issue that’s not quite what was explained to me via txt messages. I was told that the laser only fires when the the Test button is pressed however I have found that that is not quite the case. The K40 is not connected to a computer at this stage. With the Power & Laser switches On & the lid open and the Test button on the front panel pressed the laser will not fire; it will fire via the Test button on the power supply AND it also fires when I close the lid and stops when I open it! The LED does light when the Test button on the Control Panel is pressed. When I switch the Laser Power switch Off, the display is still On; I tried Test again but the laser did not fire even though the LED lit. The laser power display is currently set at 11.1. Can’t seem to upload any photos of wiring. I’m scratching my head atm so any help/suggestions would be welcomed. Cheers.

The lid of your machine actuates a switch. Where is that switch connected to?

It should be a normally open switch which connects the G and P (or P+) pins when the lid is closed.

Yes the limit switch is connected to those terminals and is N.O. and the laser stops when the lid is lifted.

Could you check/tell where the test button of the frontpanel is connected to? It sounds like there is something wrong with the wiring.

I MAY have found the problem but don’t know how to fix it at this stage. Looking at the pin outs the last one on the right ‘LO’ (laser On) has 5V on it as soon as the Main Switch is turned On, apparently it’s supposed to be -4V! This is the yellow wire that goes to the Mini Gerbil PCB. As stated previously my computer is not connected at this stage. The red wired from the Test button on the front panel is connected to the seventh terminal from the left ‘Test’ which has 5V to ground. The very first terminal on the left has 0V.