K40 conversion

Please accept my humble appologies as I’m very new to the cnc game. I bought a Chinese k40 laser cutter in 2014 and never used it. It has a Moshi MS 10105 v4.7 controller on it. I have obtained an M2Nano’s board a LED PAD for it but have no clue how to wire it up. Does anyone have a wiring diagram to convert to the nano board and possibly some pictures. Thanks in advance.

Does your unit have an analog ammeter? See the K40 Intro among other things for why you definitely want one; the digital “ammeters” aren’t ammeters at all.

Also, if you want to start with what you have, see Meerk40t@Tatarize is one of the authors of this open source software that can drive both the M2Nano and Moshi controllers.

There are examples of wiring here, but you might want to post pictures of what you have because different machines were shipped with different wiring.

1 Like

Hi Michael
Thanks for the prompt reply and info. I have downloaded meerkat but feel I might have downloaded the wrong thing and cannot get it to open, it just gives me a settings ikon and nothing opens. I’m on Microsoft edge, has anyone else had the same problem?

Please post pictures of: I have obtained an M2Nano’s board a LED PAD

1 Like

I’m confused.
Are those pictures of what is in the machine or your replacements? From your description it looks like these are what is currently in the machine?

If they are not then please post pictures of what you want to replace them with.

Hopefully your M2Nano board has the ribbon connector because that takes care of the end stops and one stepper motor. The other connectors( 3 thick wires ) is where 24V, 5V and Gnd are and the smaller connector/wires(4 of them) is the other stepper motor wires.

Are these connectors not available on your M2Nano?

1 Like

I have plugged all this into the nano board and I had to add in a wire fit the laser. but the vertical axis does not work.

So everything works but the vertical?