K40 Accuracy? -- 6" drawn rectangle is cut 1/16" too long

My first post here–

I’ve been using my K40 for about two years with no issues. But today I discovered it’s quite inaccurate, at least in the X-axis.

I was just trying to cut a 6" x 3/4" piece of acrylic to use as a spacer for attaching pcbs to an aluminum strip. The spacing of the pcbs is critical, since IR sensors must align very accurately to holes in a tubular enclosure.

I discovered that the rectangle was actually 6 1/16" ,not 6". I can do better on my table saw!

The beam is focused, line width is hairline. Using CorelLaser.

Is this all I should expect, or is something wrong?

Thanks!

Hi Dave and welcome!

The accuracies of the K40 should be much better than 1/16" in my experience.

With CorelDraw line width should be set to 0.01mm or smaller or else you get a double cut as the beam will cut both sides of the line. Hairline is bigger than 0.01mm. However this would make it slightly smaller.

Might want to check the belt tension and condition of the belt.

What version of CorelDraw are you using?

Line widths were set to hair line.

CorelDraw 2018.

Same drawing printed on paper is more accurate than my ability to measure, so it seems a K40 issue, not something in the design.

I can see belt tension causing the rectangle to be too small (slipping, missing steps), but not the other way around. Right?

Thanks!

Printing is different than coreldraw generating G code. Can you provide a copy of the coreldraw file?

Here’s a simplified .cdr, with just the rectangle.

What I cut was a layer in a bigger design–I’ll head to the workshop and use this .cdr to make sure I get the same thing (6 1/16" long).

Thanks!

rectangle.cdr (13.5 KB)

I’ve always used hairline in all my designs (cutting, not engraving!) and have never seen lines double cut.

Interesting, they must have fixed that long time bug then.

I’ll take a look at your file later.

Thanks,