Just read this "if you’re in a dry or static-prone climate,

Just read this

"if you’re in a dry or static-prone climate, don’t connect the NeoPixel DIN line directly. Use this simple circuit instead:
Put a 330 Ohm resistor between Arduino pin 6 and DIN on the strip (a slightly larger resistor like 500 Ohms is fine, if that’s what you have around).
Put a 100K resistor between DIN and GND.
(This is a simplified diagram; the actual NeoPixel strip has a plug on the input.)

You can do this even if you’re not in a dry climate. Better safe than sorry."

at https://learn.adafruit.com/1500-neopixel-led-curtain-with-raspberry-pi-fadecandy/test-components

What are your thoughts - is this required? Why?

I’ve never used this before and I’m wondering if that made my Infinity Mirror Clock to malfunction.

Although I don’t use long strips, I’d probably use a very similar wiring setup if I did. May be add a 1,000uf capacitor between Vcc and Gnd as well.

I highly doubt the resistors are the cause of malfunction. I would bet that your issues were directly related to the lack of heat dissipation in the clock. Heat is what kills electronics over an extended period of time.

I’m not sure what that’s supposed to accomplish… It’s basically just a voltage divider that’s very-slightly reducing the voltage of the DIN signal, right? In a dry climate, I’d think you’d mainly worry about static, and to protect against that, you’d probably want a diode, capacitor, or maybe an inductor?

My understanding of why you want to put a resistor in the data line is two fold:
First to help reduce “ringing” from signal edges and reduce data signal glitches.
Second, to help prevent damage to the MCU pin or first pixel by limiting current on the data line if there’s a short circuit, or a voltage leak from the power line to data line through the pixel because ground is unhooked.