Is ChiliPeppr right for noobs?

Is ChiliPeppr right for noobs?

I’m new to CNC and am building my own CNC router and PCB diller.

My main concern is getting myself into frustrating corners with something new rather than super-established and lots of online tutorials and support (like anything with Mach3, etc). Because I’m new, I wont know, when I encounter issues, whether it is because of me, or the software.

I’m just barely getting my head around all the components that get me from design to final product. I’m using OnShape (free/non-commercial) and FreeCAD (for projects that need to be commercial). I’d use Fusion but I find parametric drawing and constraints insanely easier in OnShape. I can export STL, assuming that is the way to go. Then I realized I need to produce GCode and need CAM, which I guess means CAMBAM or Fusion 360. Does ChiliPeppr play nice with these (as graceful and gotcha-free as Mach3 or other known, matured systems)?

Lastly, I don’t mind cloud based software, but I hope to run the machine without a PC connected. This is what started me down the path of Tinyg G2 and Arduino Due, and then discovering ChiliPeppr. But… again, to me it means going off the rails even more, into the realm of introducing even more potential issues for a noob, rather than just getting the latest known-good off-the-shelf controller (eg: what is the problem? my driver/controller hardware, or my driver software (ChiliPeppr, Mach3, UNCNC, whatevs), or my CAM output, or my OnShape CAD design?). Aack!

Is GRBL as stable, reliable, issue-free? Some folks say Arduinio for CNC is a joke, not powerful enough. But I think that is referring to Uno, not Due, and even better would be Raspberry Pi (is there a rPi Controller that works with Chilipeppr?)

I dig open hardware, and open software, but not at the expense of finding myself constantly tinkering with the software/drivers rather than just getting machining done.

Any advice from this group is appreciated!