I'm trying to decide on the best setup in the code for my current

I’m trying to decide on the best setup in the code for my current neopixel project. I have 8 rows of 20 WS2812b’s,

The middle 6 rows will serve as a moving color wheel (think wheel of fortune). This row will only move one direction.

The top and bottom row will serve as the color selector, and it will move back and forth in a cylon pattern.

The whole animation will be started with a big start button, and stopped with a big stop button. The speed of both animations will be controlled by potentiometers.

(see attached video for prototype)

I have a teensy 3.6 and an arduino Due on hand, and am considering the best way to make use of parallel output to be able to achieve a good combination of fast fps and simple code in the loop().

this is my first time using FastLED, and I can’t decide how many pins/arrays of LED’s I should create.

Any recommendations?

Originally I was going to create 2 arrays in the code, but I’m wondering if there’s a better combination of arrays and mirroring to take advantage of either for simplicity or performance.

I have the same decision to make, but with an ESP32 and a 18x16 matrix plus another row of 60 leds :slight_smile:

@Thomas_Balu_Walter I’ll let you know what I go with. I think I’m going to try the WS2811_PORTD controller. Do you know what Port manipulation is available for the esp32? I swear I saw a video of parallel output on the esp32 somewhere.

You can follow along with whatever I decide in my code here: https://github.com/LongLiveCHIEF/spin_to_win

160 pixels is not a lot, you don’t need parallel output for that. Any Arduino will run this. Your two options are totally overkill and will do the job fine :slight_smile: