I'm curious what you guys use to cool your laser tube.

I’m curious what you guys use to cool your laser tube. Just water? If so how many gallons is the bucket and what kind of pump? Or something else…I thought I saw coolant or antifreeze mentioned on a youtube video.

It’s recently been determined by Don and others that antifreeze is too conductive to be used near the high voltage of the laser. So just distilled water, with a few drops of aquarium algaecide if algae is an issue.

I’m just getting into this stuff, so I’m using the cheapo aquarium pump that came with it. Just a gallon of water for now, probably go bigger if I start using the thing constantly. I’ve got a thermometer in the tank, if it gets too warm I can throw a frozen water bottle in.

Some people run water coolers or chillers, if they’re running high production.

Ideal operating temperature is 15-20c higher than that and your laser power diminishes. Somewhere above 30c you start shortening the life of the tube.

You can see this post here for some recent disscusions on the topics https://plus.google.com/113684285877323403487/posts/jDRGVhd6zqy
At this time I believe we have come to consensus that it’s best to use distilled or DI water with a small amount of bleach or aquarium algaecide to prevent algae growth. Just make sure the algaecide is not copper based. Adding a small amount of alcohol (ethanol or isoproply) is probably fine as well. Car antifreeze is a definite no and RV antifreeze is still not recommend as well. I think most people use a 5gal bucket as a cooling water reservoir and add ice packs/frozen water bottles to the bucket as needed to keep the temp down during long jobs.