I was thinking if we could build an all-in-one machine that could with a

I was thinking if we could build an all-in-one machine that could with a simple press of a button scan a piece and 3D print it automatically. I’ve seen 3D scanners out there, which one is the easiest to automate? Kinect based, photo based, David Laser? Say we could add a rotating platform and a webcam that could take a picture at as many angles necessary and use a software (123catch for example) and then feed that to a fix up software, then to a slicer, then to the printer. What resources do we need to do that? I thought a Raspberry Pi would work but I guess I was wrong (I’m a newb to 3D printing, but not to electronics). So what do you guys think?

Mh - dunno if a Pi is capable enough, but you could use a small ITX Mainboard and add the Scanner into a Makibox Case for example and put that on top of a Makibox LT. (yes i work for them ^-^) I don’t know if 123 alone will be enough, but maybe you can put the 123 output into the netfabb repair cloud and then slice that via slic3r on the console.

Given the current capabilities of 3d scanners, I guess a simple one-click-approach wouldn’t work right now, since the scanned model will certainly need some cleanup first. Also seconding the concerns regarding the pi’s processing power. However, in principle it should be possible to create something like that

The kinect is limited in that it’s meant for a larger view throw. It also has a lot of artifacting as the extrapolated data is pretty noisy. It’s good for macro-scans (peoples faces/bodies) but not much else. But hey, think about it: that’s exactly what it was designed for.