I was discussing different bowden/direct drive options with my friend over on the RoBo3D

I was discussing different bowden/direct drive options with my friend over on the RoBo3D forums and he had the idea of using a flex shaft, like this: http://www.dremel.com/en-us/Attachments/Pages/ProductDetail.aspx?pid=225-01 as a way of having a direct feed system without the weight of the stepper motor on the carriage itself.

In principle the idea makes sense. Obviously I have my concerns, but has anyone heard of this being done?

I figure the major limitations are:

• Lack of torque and or torsion buckling
  • Rigid line causing issues or limited motion of travel
  • Awkward mounting

5645805cfe2b9505c85e036fca5b97b9.jpeg

Backlash would also be a pretty significant problem, since these are basically just coil springs.

I have no experience with Flex3Drive, just know it from the RepRap forum thread:

http://forums.reprap.org/read.php?1,356635

Yup, the flexidrive looks to reduce backlash issues by putting a 40:1 gearhead on the end effector. That way 360deg of backlash slop becomes just 9 degrees.

At that point you’ve added enough weight that there isn’t too much benefit over a conventional direct drive, though. And you pay $150 for the privilege.

@Tim_Elmore1 that’s a great point. You’d definitely need a design that was more rigid.

@kongorilla Thanks for the link, we’ll look into that.

I think the Bowden solution (my Kossel Mini uses one) is a good one. The flexible shaft you show is good for driving drills and grinders but when it comes to precision turning wouldn’t the inner part twist too much? The less it twists the more inflexible it will be and your steppers will have to do more work moving the head around. Adding a gear head makes it more complex still.