I got this modification uploaded to instructables:

I got this modification uploaded to instructables: http://www.instructables.com/id/Long-Bed-Conversion-for-i2-3d-Printer/
with this conversion you can Print: {Long Bed Printer aka “Big Red”} http://www.instructables.com/id/Long-Bed-Printed-3d-Printer/

Don’t you think it’s better enlarge x axis??

Nice mod, Ive been using the 12x8 heated bed for a couple years now, but I put it on the x axis. It makes sense why you did it to the Y axis as there was less to change, but can I ask why your still using the outdated design? Thats ALOT of plastic and hardware to be moving. Stepping up to an I3 design will save alot of materials and weight.
Nice accomplishment - none the less.

Yeah, this is a particularly interesting mod since Mendel type architectures don’t scale well in Y :slight_smile: There are a lot of stability and moving mass implications to large moving beds, so if this works well, you must’ve done a good job with the mechanicals.

@Alvaro_Rey_Rodriguez Enlarging both X and Y without having a printer twice the size of the print bed is the final goal. X Axis is the easier change to make, so I wanted to find a way to increase “Y” Axis first, then do “X”.

@Jeff_Para The i2 has some advantages that i3 does not. a printer using the best of both, is the type of printer I am after. The printed printer is using the box frame design for “X” of an i3, and is working well. thanks of the feed back.

@Ryan_Carlyle The moving mass does not allow for high speed printing, with current printer. But being able to model and test large design elements with the printer keeps the cost down. This i2 has 900+ hours of print time with the larger bed and keeps going. thanks for the feed back.

Id like to hear the advantages then. I had one of those 4 years ago and like it was stated earlier its a difficult platform to expand - Good for you on being resourceful though.