I built a Deadmau5 Helmet for halloween and was having a small issue getting

I built a Deadmau5 Helmet for halloween and was having a small issue getting my led strips to play nicely. I have a string of 160 or so in the mouth working great just using the FastLED DemoReel. I also have 7-led neopixel “jewels” in each of the eyes.

Is there an easy way to append the DemoReel code to provide some input to the LEDS in the eyes as well?

I tried to define another strip in a similar way but with slightly modified global variable names, but the eye LEDS would turn on for a few seconds, then turn off, then the mouth LEDS would run their DemoReel.

I would appreciate any guidance anyone could provide, I want my helmet to looks it’s best this weekend for halloween!

I am using an Arduino Mega and “neopixels” with the FastLED library 3.1

If you just want the same effects as in the mouth, you only have to run the signal wire to them as well. If you want separate effects – I’m a newbie and haven’t dabbled that far yet. Sorry.

+allanGEE I was worried about running that many strips in parallel to one another. Also, the DemoReel is set up for 160 LEDs so even if I were to use the same signal, the effects would look off given the smaller number in the eyes.

@Adam_Wright ​ if you’d be so kind as to post your code we may be able to help a little better :wink:

If something is showing for a few seconds, then clearing, you may be overruning the visible strip.

In any case, if you’re basing the animations from the defined “strip length” you should be going about it the right way.

@Jarrod_Wagner I am at work currently but I can paraphase how I did it.

Areas with changes are lines 16-24 and then line 34.

I think you may be right with the overwriting, also created a possible issue with the usage of CRGB which from my understanding has to do with defining the space in memory that we are using.