I am new to 3D printing - have just built my first printer -

I am new to 3D printing - have just built my first printer - a Prusa i3.

I have calibrated it to a few decimal places and done a few test prints - a 10x10x10 cube measured 9.93mm on my digital callipers.

But, for my first ‘real’ print, I seem to be having a problem and I’m not sure which area it lies:

When I print (using PLA), my print starts out fine, but as it continues, the print head drags on the print, eventually hitting it hard enough to miss steps and thus, screw up.

As it seems to get progressively worse, is it more likely to be calibration or have I got my steps per mm too far out (they are within a couple of decimal points - so 100mm = 99.25mm)?

This might be due to warpage and bad adhesion to the surface.

No warping, adhesion is solid - the object is firmly bedded to the surface - I’m not so new that I wouldn’t have noticed the object moving towards the head. What’s happening is that the head is dragging through already extruded lines.

I suspect that I need to refine my z-axis even more.

I’m guessing you’re having trouble when printing model that has multi area in layer, If so, it might be caused by over extrude or excessive blobs from inadequate retraction.
I had same issue before.

To me it sounds like you need more cooling of the part being printed.

My guess would be bed warp. On my i3 while leveling the bed, I can get the bed to level at 4 corner near the screws but as I move the nozzle manually toward the middle in the x direction, the nozzle actually dip down and touch the glass even tough at the end of the x direction the nozzle would return back to same level where it starts at the other end…

This tells me that I have a bed warping issue and I’m trying to solve this by changinge the 4 screw location to 3 screw location holding the bed. Will do so tonight.