I am an admin on a small FB group for owners of a certain

I am an admin on a small FB group for owners of a certain type of rare wood lathe. We moved from Yahoo when that platform got ugly to use and maintain. We now have a small and focused group without all the glitz of the larger woodworking FB groups.

It dawned on me, why don’t we do the same with this G+ group.

I don’t know what it is specifically but I enjoy working with this group more than the current Laser engraving groups on FB. I guess this group and G+ in general seems to be more Maker/engineering oriented and there is not as much “social overhead” on here. Maybe its just that those groups are so large and diverse I find myself wading through a lot of garbage to get to interesting things. Maybe its just me …

What do you think?

Definitely agree with regards to the FB laser groups. This group is mostly about makers & tinkerers than FB seems to gravitate to.

I’m already on FB so most of the complaints about FB as a bad platform to join are irrelevant for me. I’d happily join an FB group with this crowd.

I never and still not trust FB (and all others software from FB), a no go for me. this view is shared by many other old “Maker” with a bit of knowledge background. don’t worry we will find a solution for the community.

FB is not a place for me.

I’m already subscribed to several FB laser/cnc groups so it wouldn’t bother me to much. You are right about FB. I like the people here since it is more technical. Wherever this group ends up, I hope it lives on with many of the same users.

Don’t use any apps made for FB and you should be fine. I’ve been there for years without issue.