I am a teacher running an "innovation greenhouse" club -- basically a group that

I am a teacher running an “innovation greenhouse” club – basically a group that encourages middle schoolers to get into programming, technology, design, and electronics through a variety of projects.

I have been looking at a reprap project to get kids into 3d printing, as the process of building the printer is one of my main goals to share with the group.

I took note of +Josef Prusa’s forthcoming RepRap book in the post below, but where should we be focusing our research on this? Which model will give us flexibility and approachability on this project?

In general, the differences in the RepRaps are mostly about number of parts and cost of said parts. So if you can afford it, the most recent RepRap iterations (Prusa Mendel, etc) will give a complex build with good quality results.

If you want something that would be simpler to build, or cheaper, then the RepRap Wallace, or the Printrbot, would be similar builds, with reasonable quality results, and fewer parts with reduced complexity relative to the Prusa.

The Huxley is an alternative path to a simpler, smaller build prior to the Printrbot/Wallace group, so I don’t think I would recommend it at the moment - either build a full size Prusa, or a smaller Printrbot/Wallace if you need a smaller or cheaper bot.

The MendelMax is basically the same as the Prusa Mendel, but easier to build and more stable. It uses extruded aluminum parts, however, and is not self-replicating, so possibly not as much of a learning/teaching opportunity.