How much power and how to power 6 x 12v PC fans?

I’m a complete noob. I want to connect 6 x 12v, 120mm pc fans together.

Or are pc fans 5v?

I want to charge these with a rechargeable battery… what kind, size do I need?

Thanks

Welcome.
Need to know the specs on the fans, provide link pls.

Also need to know:

• How long do you need to run on a battery without charging?
  • Are you stuck on using 12V fans, 5VDC would be easier to design for.
  • How much airflow do you need?
  • Where/how will the fans be used?
  • How are you going to charge the batteries?
    • AC power
    • DC power

Thanks for the speedy reply. I honestly don’t know much about it. I want, 6 x 120mm fans, and what ever the best volt is… so 5?

It’s a hobby project, similar to a large laptop cooling pad.

I’d like to get a few hours out of the battery before charging, up to 8 or more.

Airflow… I don’t even know how to answer this :smiley:

How are you going to charge the batteries? Same as you’d charge your laptop or any other device, plug it into the wall. Would one rechargable battery be best or multiple batteries?

PC fans are typically 12 V, but you can also get these 120 mm fans in 5 V or 24 V versions.

5 V is probably the most convenient option since you can power these directly from a USB power bank.

The label on the fans tells you the voltage and the peak current. That peak value is usually quite a bit higher than the typical consumption. E.g. the label of my solder fume extractor fan says 0.33 A, but it only draws that much if I slow it to a crawl with my finger. Under normal conditions, it only draws 0.2 A.

Anyhow, you have to size everything (boost converters, the power bank, etc) based on these peak values.

For calculating how long the battery will last, you can just use the typical power consumption.

E.g. for six of those fans, I’d need a 2+ A 12 V power source, but it would only draw 1.2 A when it’s running.

2 Likes

Are you prepared to build this thing :slight_smile: