Hi K40 family. I have been using the K40 for about 6 months.

Hi K40 family.
I have been using the K40 for about 6 months. After this time the laser lost its power so instead of replacing the tube I just bought a new machine.
The new machine has an issue! I’m not surprised!
When cutting a continuous line, the machine will start quite strong, but the laser strength will continually decline as the line is being cut. At the beginning of the line, the wood was cut through, by the end of a line the laser hadn’t even marked the plywood.
I’m thinking the power supply is dodgy, what are your thoughts?

Just a note, the laser is aligned perfectly. The issue isn’t alignment.

You did a four corners test? Also what is your water temp at the beginning of the cut and toward the end? As the water gets warmer the tube will lose power

You say perfect alignment but is your focus the same all around the bed?

@Ariel_Yahni_UniKpty ​ I noticed my bed to be several MM off from front to back and side to side

Hi mate,
Yep, laser works well at all 4 corners. It is the long continuous cuts that are the issue, alignment and instantaneous power is okay.
Water temp is constant at about 10 degrees. I was using the same cooling set up on my previous machine without drama.

1mm or less can affect the cut along the bed

I’m confident that it isn’t the alignment or focus. I tested this by cutting a circle. If it was a focus/alignment issue then the beginning and end of the circle would be the same cut strength. Instead the start of the circle is strong, the end of the circle is not even marked on the wood.

Is your mA gauge dropping as it does the long continuous cuts? That would indicate power being an issue if so.

Does the size matter when you do those tests?

mA meter is constant. It is 28mA through the entire cut.
This is fairly high compared to my old machine. My old machine was 21mA max.