Hi, I'm totally new to fastled and I wonder if anybody know a good

Hi, I’m totally new to fastled and I wonder if anybody know a good library for fft audio analysing via microphone that work on the ESP8266 12-E chip. Thanks!

Depending on your platform, FastLED is likely to be consuming pretty much all the ‘real time’ your processor has. FastLED uses timer interrupts like they are going out of fashion!

Performing FFTs on audio is also very cpu intensive and interrupt heavy and therefore it is very unlikely that the two will coexist at all.

If you really want to do this, this will need 2 systems. First one controlling your LEDs, the second performing FFTs. Then interlink these via some method that allows you to send the simplest of information through.

A serial data stream from the FFT to LED would use only 1 pin at each end (plus a shared ground reference) as you don’t need the LED to send anything back I would have thought. At the other extreme you may need something like dual port RAM so the two systems can function totally asynchronously. The serial stream is probably the simplest, but remember that serial also uses interrupts and this can ‘miss’ data. So you also need to consider how to keep the two synchronised and trap missing bytes. There are lots of inter-system communication options that could be implemented, depending on your skills and the system needs.

Not all massively difficult and it also keeps the software very separate and therefore much easier to debug. You can then also choose boards that are suitable for the tasks in hand. And if you want to upgrade something, the other stays as-is.

Modular systems are always easier to build and fault find.

I’ve been able to use the OpenMusicLabs FHT library, however I use APA102’s instead of WS2812’s because of the above Interrupt issues. See demo: