Hi, I'm new to laser engravers.

Hi, I’m new to laser engravers. I do origami and I want to try and see if I can score crease lines in paper with a laser engraver to make the origami model more precise. Anything else regarding engraving is a bonus for me.
I jumped in head over heels and I’ve bought a DIY kit in a local webstore, which turns out to be very similar to the kit sold on DealExtreme. Without any manual in the box I turned to the googles and managed to assemble it and flash the Arduino Nano with GRBL 1.1e (it came with 0.8).
I also got it to work with LaserWeb3 on my Mac (and several other Gcode senders). So far I like LaserWeb3 the best and the tinkering and trying to get it to work is great fun.
As far as I can tell, everything is working properly. The machine makes the appropriate moves when I upload an SVG or a gcode file and execute it. Except… I cannot make the laser switch on/off or change light intensity. From reading other posts in this community I get the impression that the board might be hardwired to support GRBL 0.8.
I have read that I need to change something in the board, but I cannot figure out what that means for my board. I’m not very experienced in hardware adjustments. I understand basic things, but this board came fully assembled and I have no clue what I need to do to.
Could somebody please explain in ‘instructions for dummies’ what I need to do with my board to modify it for GRBL 1.1e? Or tell me where I can find more information? I’ve tried several hardware related Google+ groups, but no answers there.
Below is a picture of my board. I’ve taken the cables off so the board is more visible. The stepper motors are connected to the 3 connectors on the top right (i.e. the left most connector is not used). The laser module is connected to the top connector on the right hand side.

Any help would be very appreciated.

Regarding to: