Hi I'm new to chilipeppr and cnc milling in general.

Hi

I’m new to chilipeppr and cnc milling in general.
I’m using a gShield with version 0.9.0 of grbl loaded. SJPS 1.93 on a mac. Tested on both safari and chrome.

In trying to run an auto level on a pcb I am persistently getting an alarm probe failure or just a ‘stop’ on the first test point. However the first test point works (the z stops at the board and well before the max negative z). running a test probe works fine too.

Any thoughts on what can be causing this?

The board’s copper layer is connected to the ground of the gShield and the probe is connected to pin A5 of the Uno. the milling bit I am using to carry the probe is normally conductive and, as said, the test probe works fine (i.e. it stops on reaching the board but it does not then retreat to a safety height).

thanks in advance

Justin

edit:
confirmed the same behaviour on edge on a win 10 platform connected via SJPS 1.88

as an aside, the test point grid also disappears after the first point is probed.

in case it is useful this is a copy/paste of the last few entries from the SJPS widget

G38.2Z-10F5
G92X0Y0Z0
G91G0Z0.1
G90
G91G0Z0.1
G90
G21G90
G0Z1.5
G0X0Y0
G0Z0.5
G38.2Z-1F5
G92Z0
G21G90
G0Z1.5
G0X0Y0
G0Z0.5
G38.2Z-1F5
G92Z0

Somebody from the Grbl community would have to weigh in. Grbl’s probing is different from TinyG’s and this feels like a Grbl nuance. I have heard Grbl folks having success probing though, so could be a setting on your device or firmware version.

hmm. I think I read a post earlier that recounted an almost identical issue (Rick Obel). I will try again this evening.

Rick mentioned having to press pause twice for each test point. that would be painful. If this behaviour is the same, would this be more likely to be a grbl issue or a widget issue?

hmm. started working well(ish) for 30 minutes. then i refreshed the chilipeppr page and back to the old behaviour.