Hi - I'm a fairly experienced hobbyist and programmer,

Hi - I’m a fairly experienced hobbyist and programmer, playing with Neopixels for the first time. I have a very basic setup – an own-design board with 20x SMD WS2812Bs in a single string, driven by a vanilla Uno (which otherwise works fine).

Electrically, I’ve checked that all the LEDs have power at the right pins, that there is continuity between the Arduino data pin and the first DIN, and also from each DOUT to the next DIN. I have a 470uF cap across the 5V supply. Running off USB power: Mac → Uno → LEDs.

Communication Device:

Product ID: 0x0043
Vendor ID: 0x2341
Version: 0.01
Serial Number: 756383030373514112F0
Speed: Up to 12 Mb/sec
Manufacturer: Arduino (http://www.arduino.cc)
Location ID: 0x14200000 / 30
Current Available (mA): 500
Current Required (mA): 100
Extra Operating Current (mA): 0

But, I get nothing, rien, nichts, لا شيئ :wink:

The code is about as pared back as I can make it, borrowed from one of the examples. (NEOPIXEL and WS2812B are synonyms, right ?).

https://pastebin.com/cYPJjbmF

Arduino IDE 1.8.5
macOS 10.13.4

pragma message “FastLED version 3.001.007”

No other compilation errors/warnings

Any ideas for troubleshooting/debugging ?

Thanks.

Two thoughts…where did you buy the “Neopixels”? And have you tried running the Adafruit Strandtest sketch? If you download their library it should be included.

@ob_dev : You never did set the brightness in your setup. Try putting this line in your setup after your line 11:

FastLED.setBrightness(50); // this can be set from 1 to 255

I would change lines 3 and 4 to:

#define DATA_PIN 4
#define NUM_LEDS 20

Also, I would also change line 19 to:

FastLED.delay(30);

So that the pixels stay on for awhile before it changes to black.