Hi, I am new to FastLED and I just ordered 12 meters of 60

Hi, I am new to FastLED and I just ordered 12 meters of 60 LED/p WS2812 strip for my “disco basement” in my house for doing small home parties.

I am doing some experiements with a bunch of single LEDs put together and I am amazed by the possibilitiesof FastLED, I also got it working together with Glediator.

I have however seen this video on youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NhOxCGzSEYw

and I am wondering how this might be done. I cant beleive that the patterns shown are a result of just music auto detection of any means. Do you think this is a pre-programmed sequence which is somehow synced exactly to the music/the beats?

While a lot of standard patterns or music reactive patterns are ok, I would actually like for a limited number of songs, to do individual patterns. As kind of a sequence which only works with one specific song. Similar to those christmas light installations that you can find everywhere on youtube.

Has anyone done anything like that and is aware of information sources on the net I could use? I could think of a “beat detection” on the arduino which will then count through the beats of a song and based on the “beat number” play the predefined pattern.

Thanks for your input!

that is definitely a preprogrammed sequence… nice vid, tho

That’s clearly programmed to that specific music.

@Greg_Friedland1 has worked a while ago on this subject
https://bitbucket.org/gregfriedland/findbeats/overview
Haven’t tried it yet on FastLED

thanks for the helpful link. I also found out how the sequence on the video was done. It was done with the QLC+ software which is a DMX sequencer and then a DMX to WS2812 controller was used (so not really FastLED related, sorry)