Hi, i am new in CNC.

Hi, i am new in CNC. I use grbl controller with GRBL 1.1f soft, and ChiliPeppr/jpadie operator interface. So, the problem is with axes Coords. for example as move the CNC machine 1mm. Actual position moved 1mm, but the interface has moved only 0.039mm. I tried to change the settings, from inches to millimeters.
https://youtu.be/My3vgdMH7Q4

One thing I notice in the video is you played the simulator and then played the Gcode at the same time. I’ve not seen somebody do that before and I think it will cause the 3D viewer to jump around weird.

On the other hand, it also feels like perhaps the Grbl setting of “Reporting in inches” or “Reporting in mm” is confusing you with respect to whether you’ve sent a G20 or G21 into your controller. Maybe a Grbl user can shed light on whether a G20 or G21 does not override the “Reporting in xxx” setting.

Few things to note.

1. Video was very out of focus so I could not really see the detail of the gcode and serial data
  2. The red grbl warning was in the grbl widget. This is suggestive that either there was no connection to the board or the wrong flow control was present.
  3. I have not done any testing with 1.1f
  4. The report in inches setting is handled currently by the grbl widget sensing G20/G21 either reported from the $G query or in the gcode. So whilst you can override it manually it will rapidly get rewritten by the logic code.
  5. As I’ve posted several times, there is a logic flaw with units reporting in different scenarios and different widgets handle unit pubsubs differently. I had hoped to be able to harmonise everything so that the reporting and display oriented with G20/G21 in gcode but there are use cases that make this hard. And I have found that some times the setting adjustment is sent by the grbl widget but if ignored by the serial widget. So the code thinks it has changed but has not.