Hi folks, I'm very new to FastLED and Arduino,

Hi folks,

I’m very new to FastLED and Arduino, but I have a few questions I’m struggling with for a project I’m working on.

Is it possible to create palettes and gradient palettes at runtime? All the examples and documentation I’m seeing has these being setup with a define statement.

Similarly, is there an easy way to set the LED type at runtime? With FastLED using different syntax depending on the LED type I suspect I’m going to have to create a function to call the appropriate command to add the LEDs for each set.

What I’m trying to do is hard code as little as possible so my controllers can use multiple types of LED, various LED string lengths, and user defined palettes, but it seems this isn’t straightforward in FastLED.

Because of fastled’s design and history and priorities (performance, mainly) it currently requires a number of things to be determined at compile time. Building a generic controller is possible (there are a few folks here who have done that) - but it requires some wrangling to make work (and will increase the size of compiled code)

@Ross_Cooper-Smith This is a rather specific example, but here’s one way you can have a gradient palette you can change on the fly.

And you can update palettes on the fly too. Look at the FastLED ColorPalette example, lines 101-137. Each time those are called it’s setting up a palette. Feed them variables and change things on the fly.

I know others have examples they can share of this too.

Awesome, thanks for those. Can I create gradient palettes in the same way? Just by defining the variable and populating it at runtime?

Planning to run this on the ESP32, so hopefully I’ve enough power and resources in the IC to cope.

@Ross_Cooper-Smith For gradient palettes I believe you need to do something like my palette_example2.ino above, but then yes, you can update them whenever.