Hi Everyone! I've been working on getting SM16716 working using SPI and was wondering

Hi Everyone! I’ve been working on getting SM16716 working using SPI and was wondering if you could provide me some insight with this… When I run the example code all I get it some flickering throughout the strip.
I’m really new to SPI stuff, so if you can elaborate on your explanation that’d be great… I’d like to really understand this so any suggested reading would be much appreciated. From what I’ve ready it seems like the SM16716 uses 50 Zeros as a reset, and then 25 Bits for payload but I don’t really understand exactly how all of this works, gets linked together with clock timing, leads to smoother or less smooth PWM, etc…Sorry for the noob questions. Many thanks in advanced,
Joe

Btw, I’m working on connecting a 50 LED strip to an Arduino Uno.

Which version of the library are you using? I don’t know that the support in the first version was ever well tested/vetted - the second version should be a bit better.

FastSPI_LED2
… I’m connecting to pins 11 and 13 and have other example code via https://github.com/sowbug/sm16716 working more or less fine so I think the strip is good.

I’ll need to check the library again here with my strip to make sure that it is ok. It can be tricky getting the sm16716 working with hardware spi because that likes to look at the world in 8 bit chunks, and yes - the sm chip wants data in 25 bit chunks (a 1 followed by three sets of 8 bits for each of red, blue, and green data).

One thing to try is in my sample code, in one of the first two lines in the file is a commented out define called something like FORCE_SOFTWARE_SPH or something like that v

Uncomment that line and try rerunning and see if that works. If it does, then I have the basics of supporting the chip in place, and there’s something about the hardware spi support on avr that I messed up.