Hi everyone. I'm new to laser engraving so I'll try to be brief.

Hi everyone. I’m new to laser engraving so I’ll try to be brief.

I’m having some issues. I purchased a 50cm x 60cm 3000mW engraver on eBay. It’s awesome and works really well on the Windows BenBox software on Windows 7(I have a realllllyyy old laptop I installed windows 7 on just for this) and have engraved entire end tables and nightstands already with crystal clear precision(has new stepper motor drivers for cleaner signals and a few modifications to the actual rails for smoother rolling)…

I’m trying to get it to work on my Linux operating systems…
I love the way this LaserWeb 4 software looks and is way cleaner than the BenBox software and T2Laser just doesn’t look good and doesn’t work in the trial version I’ve tried anyways.
It seems us linux users are left in the wind in the software category for amateur laser engraving.

When I use LaserWeb 4, it says :

Machine connected
benbox laser 3.1© mul 2015.06.06
unknow M115
unknow M115
No supported firmware detected. Closing port /dev/ttyUSB0
Machine disconnected

Then it disconnects. It does this every single time. I have not been able to get it to work on here… I’ve used a little Neje laser engraver in the past on my linux computers and they worked fine with 3rd party software.

I don’t know what I’m doing wrong or what I need to do. I’ve tried everything I can think of. The documentation and wiki is confusing. I don’t understand any of it and it is hardly navigational in my opinion so I can’t even troubleshoot it myself.
I would really appreciate any help I can get. Thank you everyone!

09794243d993e9c585a3944b57fce7b1.png

Read this > https://github.com/LaserWeb/LaserWeb4/wiki/2.1-Initial-Configuration-GRBL-1.1

Okay… oh boy… is there a video or something I can watch as a hands on kind of thing. I don’t want to break this thing considering I have no idea what I’m doing to begin with.

I appreciate that super fast response, too… Thank you