Hi everyone. I'm new to individually addressable LEDs,

Hi everyone. I’m new to individually addressable LEDs, and it appears that I have made a good hardware choice (Adafruit DotStar), but that comes with fewer online examples compared to the WS2812. I am trying to modify a Griffin Powermate to use two Dotstar LEDs driven by a 5V Adafruit trinket. I have the schematic portion figured out, but I don’t know how to make these two LEDs “breathe” between two colors. I want both LEDs displaying the same color at the same time, fade out, and fade in to a secondary color. Can anyone provide a simple script, or point me to an existing script that performs this kind of activity? I tend to learn better by first modifying existing code and adapting it to work the way I need it to. Any help would be appreciated.

Welcome @Ryan_Shuck to this fun LED addiction.

Here’s something to get you started.

Btw, most any FastLED example you run across should work with WS28**, APA102 (Dotstar), LPD8806, etc pixels as long as you set things up correctly in your FastLED.addLeds line.

If you run into questions put your code on http://gist.github.com and share the link.

@Ryan_Shuck If you haven’t already found it, start reading through the wiki. Good stuff there.

Thanks @marmil , this got me going and I was able to figure it out. I then destroyed my Trinket pretty shortly after (255 is not a safe value even with only two dotstars connected). I have a new one on the way, and then my RGB Griffin Powermate will be done. Appreciate the help.

What went wrong? Which flavor of Trinket were you using?