Hi everyone! I'm just beginning to design a cnc machine and trying to understand

Hi everyone! I’m just beginning to design a cnc machine and trying to understand how chilipeppr works to use it as main software. I intend to use a RaspberryPi commanding an arduino (uno or mega) with easydrives for the nema 17 motors. Also considering interesting the idea of an offline version. Anyone working on it? My english is not perfect, so excuse me if I commit a lot of mistakes.

Two of many paths to look at: GRBL (GShield on Uno) and tinyG2, a port of tinyG to a Arduino Due(needs stepper drivers added). One place to look: https://github.com/synthetos
Both of these currently supported by CP

I thought TinyG2 worked with GShield too?

Correct, if you only want to drive three steppers. I am not a Gshield user, not sure if Gshield handles 3.3V input logic.

about the offline version we can not do it at the moment

@Javier_del_Alamo you would be better off just buying a TinyG, unless you have a particular reason for wanting. a Pi?

Javier, I use a Raspberry Pi to drive a TinyG and it’s really nice. Even the Printrbot machine comes with a Raspi and TinyG together out-of-the-box. The Raspi simply runs the Serial Port JSON Server and has WiFi. The TinyG plugs in over USB to the Raspi. Then you connect to the Raspi’s IP address from ChiliPeppr.

@cmcgrath5035 Thanks for the link, but Im looking to work with easydrives. Do you think Gshield is too different to make it work? To be more precise, my design is a multitool plotter that can be used as a low high cnc with the apropiate tool.