Hi everyone! I'm after some help with my WS2811 lights.

Hi everyone!

I’m after some help with my WS2811 lights. I’m fairly new to arduino, and I’m trying to write a sketch using an ultrasonic sensor, servo motor and a string of leds, where approaching closer to the object the sensor is mounted on causes the lights to change colour / do different things. My current plan is to have the distance sensor mounted on a servo which is rotating and acting as a sort of radar, so that a wide field of angles of approach towards the object are covered (I could totally be going about this the wrong way so if you have other suggestions about how to do this or a more suitable sensor that would be awesome). I’ve tried a PIR sensor but it’s really either on or off and it has a weird cool-down period between each trigger which makes it unsuitable for my project.

The problem so far with using this radar method is that since the sensor will sweep past people approaching the object, using a simple if statement to trigger some lights (basically, if distance < 40, {fill_solid red}) will mean lights only stay red for the fraction of a second that the sensor hits a person. However, what I want is the distance sensor to act as though it’s continually tracking the person, even though it’s sweeping like a radar. My solution is to have the lighting state that’s being triggered to run for a second or so, by which time the sensor can sweep past again and register any change in a persons position and therefore if the lighting state should stay the same or change.

In practice, I tried using a for loop so that when a person is detected, it runs a lighting state for a certain amount of loops which sort of works, but the problem is that the arduino is of course no longer receiving distance signals from the sensor while it’s running the for loop.