Hi Another newbie here.

Hi
Another newbie here. I just purchased my K40, everything seems to work except that it won’t fire from the test button on top of machine (it does fire from PS test button). On the PS, there is no wire attached to the K+. Also on the control panel board, the 5 pin plug has no wire attached to the P-.
My question is, could this missing wire be the issue?
If so, does the K+ connect to the P- ?
Thanks for any thoughts or assistance!
Mark

Mark, I will look at this in the am…

@donkjr Thank Don, I appreciate it.

@Mark_McCarty

#K40LPS_K+/K-Reversed

I do not have a _digital panel nor a wiring diagram for that panel so some of this is based on what I know the Laser Power Supply (LPS) needs.

See the chart below.
… K+ is grounded when the TEST sw is pushed.
… For the LPS to fire P+ must also be at ground which is usually provided by the Laser Enable being switched on.

Label K+,K- reversed
I just had a case where the K+ and K- was reversed on the silkscreen. Yours seems to be the same i.e. reversed? The silk screen is wrong, not what is on the pin. So (K- = K+) and (K+ = K-).

A picture of a supply with the correct silkscreen:
Google Photos

Conclusion
So what this tells me is that the K- is what is actually left unconnected and since K- is just ground it probably is derived from another ground up on the panel. Perhaps the G on the 3 pin connector to the right of the K+K- connector. I do not think wiring is your problem.

Test LPS Controls
If you have and can use a DVM, on the volts scale:
1)…Check the voltage on P+ with the “laser Switch” on.
2)…Check the voltage on K+ when the “Test” switch is pushed.

The chart below shows the values.

Verify Coolant flow switch
I notice that the P/G plug has 2x black wires not going to the panel?

I am guessing this is going to a waterflow sensor and then to the panel somehow?

3). Do you have a water flow sensor?
4). Is the pump working and are you running coolant through the tube?