Hey! Reddit mentioned I might be able to get some help for this awesome

Hey!

Reddit mentioned I might be able to get some help for this awesome community!

The goal is to make a battery powered trippy light that will hang from the center of a pop-up (EZ UP) tent at a music festival, and I need some help flushing out my ideas. I am a software engineer, so I am not worried about the programming side. I only have basic experience with arduinos, and zero experience with addressable LED (I have some samples in the mail so I can start playing around). I am also comfortable with basic soldering.

Check out my rough sketch and basic idea linked below. Basically I want to get a 8" mirror disco ball suspended in the middle of a bicycle rim. The mirrored disco ball will be attached to a slow moving motor (example = https://www.amazon.com/American-M-Hdac8-Mirror-Ball-Motor/dp/B0009O116Y ) .

I want to line both sides of the bike rim with addressable RGB leds. I am thinking I could widen the spoke holes and push leds through the rim towards the center. These would illuminate and reflect off the mirror disco ball. From my initial research, something like this seems like it could work. (12mm Diffused Thin Digital RGB LED Pixels (Strand of 25) [WS2801] : ID 322 : $39.95 : Adafruit Industries, Unique & fun DIY electronics and kits)
Pointing out away from the center, I thought it would look cool to use the higher density LED strips like neopixels.

Currently my most concerning unknowns

• I am hoping I will be able to use an arduino to control both strands of lights, but not confident that will be possible because the linked LEDs are different chips (ws2801 and ws2812). At this point, I haven’t put much thought into what type program would control the lights. Would be cool to have a handful of different “shows”. Maybe a mic to pick up the volume of music playing at the camp?