Hey guys, I know this isn't really the most appropriate place to ask,

Hey guys,

I know this isn’t really the most appropriate place to ask, but I have been trolling through the laserweb and decided you guys are pretty cool kids :-P. Now I need a laser set up. Problem is, I have NO idea where to buy a laser, or what to buy, or what extra electronics I would need. I have a couple working cnc’s, am familiar with 3d printing, cnc milling, and cad programs so I’m not a complete noober.

All I have found is a Chinese ebay laser setup, or jtech “kit” but it’s pretty spendy. I appreciate all your help. You guys all kinda seem like programming wizards compared the cnc Google groups.

Mark

@Mark_Leino ​ Welcome, and yes we are cool kids. By saying jtech is expensive then you need to go with either a K40 CO2 laser for about $300 or bellow that a Chinese diode I beleive those are at bellow $200. For upgrades to the K40 lol at my profile and find a collection dedicated to it. You are going to enjoy a laser and will complete the Triple Play by also having a 3DP and CNC

Yeah I’m not necessarily worried about the cost, just want to be able to cut wood, acrylic, and do some engraving. Up to .25" of course. Where do you buy your k40’s? I would much rather order from a us seller than waiting a month for Chinese junk

@Mark_Leino Most people buy K40 through ebay sellers. Maybe other options exist. I can’t suggest a US seller as I’m AU based.

@Mark_Leino ​ look at best rating sellers on eBay and then pray it arrives in one piece. Most of us have done that if not all

Myself and a few others have had good luck with Globaldirectshipping or global freeshipping sellers on Ebay for our k40 Lasers. Add a smoothieboard to upgrade the controller, an air assist head with air pump and you are good to go for around $500-600 complete, able to cut 6mm or 1/4 ply and acrylic.

https://jtechphotonics.com/?product_cat=laser-and-driver-combo-kits