Hey everyone! I've been using the ws2812's almost exclusively for a couple years now

Hey everyone! I’ve been using the ws2812’s almost exclusively for a couple years now and I want to make the switch to the APA 102’s for obvious speed benefits !

However, I want to make sure I’m not just going to run into a bottleneck somewhere else. If some of you could help clarify a few things I would be super grateful! : )

As I understand it now, the refresh rate is WAY faster than ws28xx family, but what’s the longest strip one could have while maintaining 60 fps? Is there a way to calculate this?

The octows2811 library as I understand it has a way of multi tasking the led updating, which makes it more efficient.
However, I would assume the much faster refresh rate of apa-102 combined with fastLED and teensy 3.1 would be faster for more leds, right? or wrong?

1. (not a fastLED question but related)
    Do systems like Beaglebone or raspberry pi handle this multi tasking better for something like apa102’s since their processors are able to multi task?

Using the Octows2811 adapter board and it’s library I can push around 4000 ws2812b’s at 60 fps, but much more than that I start to notice a slow down.

Of course part of this process for me is generating my led data on a pc and sending it over serial to said teensy 3.1, so serial limitations might also be playing a factor.

Thanks for your time!
Lucas

(note: First off - there’s “refresh rate”, aka how many PWM cycles per second does the led have - the WS2811’s have about 400 and the APA102’s have about 20,000. Then there’s data rate, which is how fast you can write data to the leds, which I believe is what you are referring to when you say refresh rate)