Hey everyone. I am just getting started with FastLED,

Hey everyone. I am just getting started with FastLED, and I have a few questions. First, is there a way to code a group of leds and set the (same) color for all of them in one line? (say leds 1-3,5,10-12 etc) I can get what I want to do but it requires a line of code for each led. Another, has anyone programed a bunch of effects on the same sketch and changed effects with the Bluetooth module from a smartphone. I am wiring up a custom deck lighting scheme, and it would really be a cool effect to be able to swap different effects without plugging in to the arduino. Is there any place online that has sketches posted that I could just upload and try? The examples that came with the library are lacking in the amount of them department. Any help from anybody would greatly be appreciated. Thanks.

I shamelessly squirreled this example away from some time back. This might work for you.

For a partial set of pixels…

uint8_t bottomrow[NUM_ARMS] = {10,20,30,40,50,60 };
uint8_t nextbottomrow[NUM_ARMS] = {9,19,29,39,49,59 };

// set all the outermost leds to white, and next outermost to blue
for(int i = 0; i < NUM_ARMS; i++) {
leds[bottomrow[i]] = CRGB::White;
leds[nextbottomrow[i]] = CRGB::Blue;
}

Check this for Android->BT->Arduino->FastLED

or this one → TKJ Electronics » Bluetooth controlled RGB light strip

@marmil now, I tried adapting this. But like I said I am new to this type of coding and FastLED. Where is each of those codes being inserted? The void setup? The loop? And can u rename bottomrow and nextbottomrow?

Oh yes, certainly rename with variable names that make much more sense to your project! Sorry if that was confusing.
The variable decorations would go in the top part of your program where you’ve defined other variables. The for loop would go in you main program somewhere.

Post your code to http://pastebin.com if you’re still stuck so we can further assist.