Hey all. I'm currently designing a power system for my next project and I

Hey all. I’m currently designing a power system for my next project and I figured I would ask this question. Has anyone ever had any issues with leaving a terminal style power supply powered on for extended periods of time? I’m currently planning on using relays to distribute power to my leds, and the power supply will be hidden, but will always be powered with 110v. This is going to be a gift for my parents for Christmas and I don’t want to also give the gift of homelessness and a free visit from the firefighters.

What do you mean by terminal style and I would think any power supply should be ok for extended use

The kind where there are screw terminals for the connections.

And I know it should be fine. I’m just wondering if anyone has had any issues with them that I should consider

Hi ok I know the ones I have had no experience with these but hoping to get one for next years display so would be watching this now maybe getting a cooling fan on case to keep it cool unless one is fitted

Hi @Evan_Bruno been running a clock for about 2 years continuously with a 5V/20A PSU no problems at all but in my case when the clock is in normal mode it draws maybe 3 amps out of that 20A PSU so it is running very very cool !!!
If you are near the limit of you PSU, it may get a bit hot and then you may start worrying about longevity!

Yea, 90% of the time the power supply will only be powering it’s on board led. I am also planning on using more than one that will cut down the load when it is in use. I have had those things spark and fry usually when powered for the first time. I am just wondering on failures in use.