Here are the videos of my automatic printing production system! Lots of videos and

Here are the videos of my automatic printing production system! Lots of videos and GCODE implementation below. I can produce runs of parts with the machine self clearing the bed and starting the next print in an endless cycle. Prints are ejected down a paper chute into a tray for collection.

So when visiting the huge CNC shop where they build my hotends I saw an awesome auto-feed lathe that you load up with bar stock, it turns a workpiece, parts it off whereupon it falls into a little chute, and it then pops out the back of the lathe into a little basket for collection. The guy running the machine shop says he just fills the machine, presses “go” and goes home for the night! Well, I had massive engineering jealously right there. If he could do it, then why not me on my little RepRap?!

Another motivation was that as well as running E3D with David I am also a full time teacher of Engineering at a high school. I want to teach the kids about gearing and so on, so I want to print literally hundreds of these gears: http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:30981 But unloading and resetting prints is a real chore.

In simple summary here is how I did it:

Use PLA on hot glass - the parts come completely loose from the bed once it cools.

Print an item
Cool the bed (parts come loose once cool)
Use a little ram attached to the X-Carriage to push the part off the bed into a chute
Print next item
Repeat forever.

Here are some video detailing the process:

(Warning - I talk a lot…)

Hardware overview

End of print procedure

Ejection of print and starting of next print

Another print ejection