Help with headphone battery replacement - newbie

Hi

I have a pair of WorWoder cheep blue tooth headphones (https://www.daraz.pk/products/worwoder-wireless-bluetooth-over-ear-stereo-foldable-headphones-wireless-and-wired-mode-headsets-with-soft-memory-protein-earmuffs-built-in-mic-for-mobile-phone-tv-pc-laptop-black-blue-i201532633.html and manual here https://www.mycablemart.com/products/details/LP-E06_manual.pdf). The battery life has become very short and I am looking to replace the battery with a new one and one with a much longer storage capacity too.

|

||
| — | — | — |
|350x299||

These are cheap probably chinese headphones but otherwise work fine. It seems to have one of these batteries pictured below however putting a volt metre on it shows it is giving out 4.11 volts when fully charged, both connected to the charger and disconnected from the charger. The terminals are quite trick to get a reading from.

It appears so to be a Lithium-Polymer battery. I am very new to this and have several questions.

334x160

Firstly is the voltage reading telling me that I have got the battery identification wrong? This was taken with the USB plugged in and hence during charging?

If I am wrong how may I identify the battery. The battery has no markings like the one in the picture or link.

If I am right, can I simply get another Lithium-polymer with a higher mAH ratting and place that in the current battery’s place? If not, why not and what can I do.

Can anyone advise me if the battery type Lithium-polymer has a particular type of charging circuit. Would there be anything wrong with replacing the battery with another type, i.e. Lithium-ion or more even NiCd nor NiMH batteries?

Finally what is the difference between batteries with 2, 3 or even 4 wires?

Any help much appreciated.

Robert

The 3.7V rating is a nominal rating. The max you should charge these batteries to is 4.2V, but it’s not crazy that you would read 4.11V while charging, for three reasons: