Hello, I am trying to send commands to my TinyG and Arduino Uno simultaneously

Hello,

I am trying to send commands to my TinyG and Arduino Uno simultaneously using a custom widget in chilipeppr. I watched @jlauer video about this, which helped tremendously, but am now stuck. My issue is that I am not sure what syntax to use when sending the commands from JS.

When I have my arduino uno selected in the Chilipeppr workspace I can send the basic text command “2” as a string from JS and it works:

var cmd = “2”;
chilipeppr.publish("/com-chilipeppr-widget-serialport/send", cmd);

It also works when I send the text command from the spconsole widget.

When I have my TinyG selected, the command “send /dev/ACM0 2”
works in the spconsole and serial port widgets, however, I am not sure what string or command to send from the javascript in my widget to control the Arduino when my TinyG is selected as default. I am very new to JS and JSON syntax so any help is appreciated!

Correction: “send /dev/ttyACM0 2” does not work from the spconsole" only the serialport widget

Sounds like an interesting use case. You can use the chilipeppr.publish("/com-chilipeppr-widget-serialport/send", cmd); for whatever is the default (green) port that is selected in the serial port widget. If you are going to actually specify which port, you need to use a lower level call. There are some example macros that show this. You can also look in the pubsub dialog box for the serial port widget. The command would be: chilipeppr.publish("/com-chilipeppr-widget-serialport/ws/send", “send /dev/ttyACM0 2\n”);

@jlauer Thanks John, that did the trick. This is for my auto tool change system, hopefully I can share it in the near future.

Also, if you get a second, you should check out my updated Spindle speed control widget. I’ve made a lot of progress since the last time you saw it.
ID com-chilipeppr-widget-spindlecontrol