Hello, complete noob here! I'd like to build myself a RepRap printer,

Hello, complete noob here! I’d like to build myself a RepRap printer, and I’m currently enticed by the Tantillus. I like its compact & sturdy design, maximal use of printed parts and, it seems, fairly low cost. I’m satisfied with its 100mm cube build area.

Am I on the right path? Is there a better choice for what I’m after? I appreciate any advice from those of you who’ve been down this road before.

There tend to be two distinct strains of thought on here:

One group says you should absolutely source and build your first printer because you’ll have a better understanding of all the parts and how the thing works.

The other group says you should get a kit or fully assembled ready to go printer, because you can learn about the printer as you work with it and avoid the difficulty and frustration that can come with sourcing/building/calibrating your own printer with no prior experience.

Personally I fall into the second category. I looked into sourcing and building my own printer to start with and found it so hard to find a body of knowledge good enough to allow me to know what I was doing that I gave up and bought a pre-made printer. That path isn’t free of difficulty, but it’s less aggravating than spending weeks trying to get the thing working then putting it aside for six months because you’re sick of it (this isn’t an uncommon thing, you’ll see posts from people like that on here fairly often).

My first pre-made printer gave me a good enough understanding of the technology to understand the scattered knowledge I was finding all over the internet and let me make informed decisions about building my own printers.