Hello all. I am thinking of building a 3d printer with a rotating head,

Hello all.

I am thinking of building a 3d printer with a rotating head, dragknife type. It would be a machine with 4 axes, with the peculiarity that the fourth axis keeps the head oriented in the forward direction.
Does anyone have experience with these types of applications? Where can I find a cnc driver with the ability to handle that 4th axis? Professional type.

I have looked in omron but the fourth axis can not make the turn of the aplication head.

The work area is 2000x1500x800 mm and the weight of the head is 6 kg.

All ideas will be welcome.

Thanks in advance.

I have no personal experience with such a unique setup myself. But I have seen machines with some very novel kinematics that run LinuxCNC. Which I believe supports 9 axis out of the box. It is some arbitrary ridiculously high number like that. I still imagine you’re going to have to create some custom code yourself to do exactly what you want. If I were you I’d join their forum and ask them there for some guidance. https://forum.linuxcnc.org/

BOSCH Rexroth MTX Micro maybe?

Are you looking for something that runs the G-code? something that generates the G-code? Something that actually pushes signals to the motors?

For instance, Fusion360 with a custom post processor a machine with two parallel ports, a PDMC breakout board and any servo/stepper driver will do what you want.

So will Solidworks (again with a custom post processor) a machine with MESA boards again will drive any servo/stepper drivers you want.

So, what do you mean as a ‘CNC driver’ ?

@Wes_Devauld LinuxCNC supports MESA too. http://wiki.linuxcnc.org/cgi-bin/wiki.pl?Mesa_Cards

Mach3 has tangential knife control. It will move your knife in the direction of cut with a stepper motor.

Look up Tangential knife controller for other more professional controllers